About Time…

I’ve forgotten how to write. At least that’s what it feels like, after several months of no posts. So much was worth writing about, and yet the time or motivation or both were lacking. So, just to show I can still write—if not eloquently—here are some highlights of that time.

Gray start in the city

Gray start in the city

Approaching one glacier...

Approaching one glacier…

The biggest thing, of course, was the trip to Iceland. What an amazing place! The diverse geological features of that island, all of which you can experience in one day, make it such a unique destination. Sure, you can find pretty much anything Iceland has here, but you won’t find them all in area about the size of Kentucky. I got what I thought were some pretty good photos, though my tripod broke in transit so my pics of the Northern Lights are pretty crummy.

...and hiking another

…and hiking another

End of a long day

End of a long day

I’m happy to report that eating vegan was not a problem. Finding good beer, however, was. They’ve only brewed beer there for about 15 years, due to archaic liquor laws, and I’d say they have some catching up to do. And of course the prices, for beer and just about anything else, were high, reflective of the import economy of any island, plus Iceland’s high taxes, which support a Scandinavian-like social system. I did manage to score some locally crafted earrings for my honey that seemed reasonably priced, bought direct from the maker. They included pieces of Icelandic lava rocks, which I thought made them a little special.

One of several falls near each other

One of several falls near each other

View from the hotel

View from the hotel

Our tour guide for the day exploring glaciers said the economy has mostly bounced back from the 2008 economic crisis, though some people have left for Europe. Meanwhile, immigrants from Third World countries were noticeable in Reykjavik, leading to a pretty good array of ethnic restaurants. English, of course, is widely spoken by everyone, and there seemed to be a number of Brits on holiday. Americans too, taking advantage of the reasonable off-season air fares. Tourism is now right up there with fishing as the major economic engine, and it’s no wonder, with all the natural beauty the country has to offer. I would go back in a heartbeat, since I only saw one corner of the island.

Exploring Ghost Ranch

Exploring Ghost Ranch

On the hike

On the hike

Other highlights: a wonderful (if slightly strenuous hike for this aging body) at Ghost Ranch in Abiquiu; more work than I would like, and most of it, as always, at ridiculously low pay; a play selected as a finalist in a Chicago contest (yea!), but no guarantee it will be produced (boo!); the ongoing pursuit of Spanish through continuing ed classes at the community college (pero no me pregunte hablar en espanol); and another trip, this one still ongoing, back east to CT and Boston. I attended the Biographers International Conference, a geekfest for biographers of all stripes. I edit the group’s newsletter, and I always enjoy hanging with and learning from skilled practitioners of the craft. There were several big names in attendance (well, at least to lovers of biographies), including three Pulitzer Prize winners. The last two recipients of that award for biography are BIO members.

The old home...

The old home…

...and the new

…and the new

The CT part of the trip, which resumes tomorrow, includes time with friends and family. I love the rich greenness of my hometown this time of year, with some of the fruit trees still in bloom. But as I was talking about with someone this weekend, New England, for all its beauty, can feel a little claustrophobic compared to the New Mexican expanse. And I keep looking for those familiar mountains, which anchor me to the sense of place that is my new hometown. Yes, it’s always good to come East and see the people I love, but I am eager to return home. Even if it means a return to the grindstone.

Leave a comment